Skip to Content
MinisterMinister of Energy and Resources
Current MinisterHon Judith Collins

The Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment provides the administrative support for this portfolio.

Crown Entities

Electricity Authority
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority

PFA schedule organisations


Other Organisations



Vote Business, Science and Innovation


Atomic Energy Act 1945
Climate Change Response Act 2002 (Part 6 only)1
Crown Minerals Act 1991
Electricity Act 1992
Electricity Industry Act 20102
Electricity (Renewable Preference) Repeal Act 2008
Energy Companies Act 1992
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act 2000
Energy (Fuels, Levies, and References) Act 1989
Energy (Fuels, Levies, and References) Biofuel Obligation Repeal Act 2008
Energy Resources Levy Act 1976
Gas Act 1992
International Energy Agreement Act 1976
Lake Taupo Compensation Claims Act 1947
Manapouri – Te Anau Development Act 1963
National Development Act Repeal Act 1986
Ngai Tahu (Pounamu Vesting) Act 1997
Petroleum Demand Restraint Act 1981

1 The Minister for Climate Change Issues is responsible for the overall administration of the Climate Change Response Act 2002.

2 The Minister of Consumer Affairs is responsible for subpart 1 of Part 4.