

## **Proactive Release**

The following Cabinet minute has been proactively released by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, on behalf of Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern, Minister for Child Poverty Reduction:

Oral Item: Confirming Child Poverty Reduction Targets – Cabinet Minute

Date of release: 22 May 2019

The following document has been included in this release:

Oral Item: Confirming Child Poverty Reduction Targets – Cabinet Minute (SWC-19-MIN-0037 refers)

No information has been withheld in this Minute.

© Crown Copyright, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)



# Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

# **Minute of Decision**

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# **Oral Item: Confirming Child Poverty Reduction Targets**

**Portfolio** 

**Child Poverty Reduction** 

On 10 April 2019, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee:

- noted that in March 2018, SWC invited the Minister to report back by April 2019 on the updated rates for 2017/18, and any proposed changes to the government's three-and ten-year targets [SWC-18-MIN-0013];
- noted the briefing from the Prime Minister on the proposed amendment to the material hardship target;
- agreed to increase the previously agreed long-term material hardship target from 7 to 6 percent.

Jenny Vickers Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern
Rt Hon Winston Peters
Hon Kelvin Davis
Hon Phil Twyford
Hon Andrew Little
Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)
Hon Dr David Clark
Hon Nanaia Mahuta
Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Aupito William Sio

Hon Julie Anne Genter

Michael Wood, MP

Jan Logie, MP

## Hard-copy distribution:

Minister for Child Poverty Reduction

# Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Officials Committee for SWC
Office of the Chair