Back to top anchor

Ministerial List

On 24 April 2017, the Prime Minister announced changes to the Ministerial List. These changes took effect on 2 May 2017.


  • All Ministers are members of the Executive Council.
  • The Parliamentary Under-Secretary is part of executive government, but is not a member of the Executive Council.
  • Portfolios are listed in the left-hand column. Other responsibilities assigned by the Prime Minister are listed in the right-hand column.

Cabinet Ministers
Portfolios Other responsibilities

Rt Hon Bill English

Prime Minister
Minister for National Security and Intelligence
Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services

Hon Paula Bennett

Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of State Services
Minister for Women
Minister of Tourism
Minister of Police
Minister for Climate Change Issues

Hon Steven Joyce

Minister of Finance
Minister for Infrastructure

Hon Gerry Brownlee

Minister of Foreign Affairs
Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission

Hon Simon Bridges

Minister for Economic Development
Minister of Transport
Minister for Communications
Leader of the House
Associate Minister of Finance

Hon Amy Adams

Minister of Justice
Minister for Courts
Minister for Social Housing
Minister Responsible for Social Investment
Minister Responsible for HNZC
Associate Minister of Finance

Hon Dr Jonathan Coleman

Minister of Health
Minister for Sport and Recreation

Hon Christopher Finlayson QC

Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations
Minister in Charge of the NZ Security Intelligence Service
Minister Responsible for the GCSB
Associate Minister for Maori Development

Hon Michael Woodhouse

Minister of Immigration
Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety
Minister for ACC
Deputy Leader of the House

Hon Anne Tolley

Minister for Children
Minister for Social Development
Minister of Local Government

Hon Nathan Guy

Minister for Primary Industries
Minister of Civil Defence
Associate Minister for Economic Development

Hon Nikki Kaye

Minister of Education
Minister for Youth

Hon Todd McClay

Minister of Trade
Minister for State Owned Enterprises

Hon Dr Nick Smith

Minister for the Environment
Minister for Building and Construction

Hon Judith Collins

Minister of Revenue
Minister of Energy and Resources
Minister for Ethnic Communities

Hon Maggie Barry

Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
Minister of Conservation
Minister for Seniors

Hon Paul Goldsmith

Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment
Minister of Science and Innovation
Minister for Regulatory Reform

Hon Louise Upston

Minister of Corrections
Associate Minister of Education
Associate Minister for Primary Industries
Associate Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment

Hon Alfred Ngaro

Minister for Pacific Peoples
Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector
Associate Minister for Children
Associate Minister for Social Housing

Hon Mark Mitchell

Minister of Defence
Minister for Land Information
Associate Minister of Justice
Ministers outside Cabinet
Portfolios Other responsibilities

Hon Nicky Wagner

Minister supporting Greater Christchurch Regeneration
Minister for Disability Issues
Associate Minister of Conservation
Associate Minister of Health
Associate Minister of Tourism

Hon Jacqui Dean

Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Minister for Small Business
Associate Minister for ACC
Associate Minister of Local Government

Hon David Bennett

Minister of Veterans' Affairs
Minister for Food Safety
Minister for Racing

Hon Tim Macindoe

Minister of Customs
Associate Minister of Education
Associate Minister of Transport

Hon Scott Simpson

Minister of Statistics
Associate Minister for the Environment
Associate Minister of Immigration
Support Party Ministers
Portfolios Other responsibilities

Hon Peter Dunne

Minister of Internal Affairs
Associate Minister of Conservation
Associate Minister of Health

Hon Te Ururoa Flavell

Minister for Maori Development
Minister for Whanau Ora
Associate Minister for Economic Development
Parliamentary Under-Secretary
Portfolios Responsibilities

David Seymour MP

Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Education and the Minister for Regulatory Reform
Last updated: 
Tuesday, 27 June 2017

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.